iamhyperlexic

Contemporary short fiction, poetry and more

www.write-invite.com: round 1

My first entry of the new 2012 write-invite competition earned a top twenty finish, which is only one place above “also read” – the lowest place of all.  It was 700 words.  This is what the judges said about it:

Witty & contemporary. A man is expecting to be collected for his interview.. ‘ I don’t do nice. I’m not a nice person.’ Quirky & strong idea with sharp dialogue.

A fairly laudatory review for a piece that did not make the top ten.  The three short-listed ones, as often happens – but then I admit that I am biased – were disappointing.  I voted for the shortest one, which certainly had a contemporary feel to it and a promising build-up, but I felt that it had less subject matter in it than mine and not as much narrative development. 

I am not posting the entry because it used some ideas that I was trying out for one of my OU assignments, and I don’t want to go public with any of the material until after the assignment deadline. 

I fight on.

Leave a Reply

