iamhyperlexic

Contemporary short fiction, poetry and more

Poetry update

The editor of the ‘Grist’ poetry anthology tells me that he has accepted three of my poems: ‘Sweet Nothing’, ‘Throwing Mother In The Skip’, and ‘Dear Jared’.  ‘Dear Jared’ is a companion poem I wrote to ‘Dear George’ by Claire Jones.  Both ‘Dear George’ and ‘Dear Jared’ are viewable on Claire Jones’s website www.thehungrypoet.co.uk

The three will appear in an anthology to be published in 2012.  I don’t know yet when the publication date will be, but I expect it will be around March or April.  I am presuming that there will be a launch event in Huddersfield.  I will post more details, including the name of the anthology, as they transpire. 

Other news to do with poetry is that I have been invited to appear as a guest on the fortnightly programme hosted by Gaia Holmes on Phoenix Radio.  This is a local radio station broadcast from Halifax and accessible via the Internet from www.phoenixfm.co.uk   Gaia’s programme goes out every other Sunday from  16:00 to 18:00 GMT.  It is an eclectic mix of music, poetry, personal reflections and literary discussion.   I found when I started listening that the choice of music (unpredictable, challenging and inspiring) and the emphasis on quality of content rather than slickness of presentation recalled The John Peel Show.  From me, there could be no greater recommendation for a radio programme. 

The provisional theme for the programme is ‘renewal’.

Leave a Reply

