iamhyperlexic

Contemporary short fiction, poetry and more

‘The Companion’ is rejected twice on the same day

I sent the first three chapters of ‘The Companion’ to two agents, Marjacq Scripts and Mic Cheetham.  Despite having sent the two manuscripts about 3 weeks apart, the two replies arrived in the same post – both rejections.

I still don’t understand why, when submitting work to agents or publishers, we are supposed to send an SAE.  All the books say that you should send a freshly-printed manuscript to each new target. Therefore, what use is a returned manuscript?  None, that I can think of.

My next avenue of exploration will be to send it directly to publishers.  I don’t know of any other agents who deal with what the market will insist is ‘science fiction’ (since it has space travel and an android in it). 

I fight on.

Real life permitting, I will be going back to write-invite.com this afternoon, and there is the open mic event in Leeds on Monday 5 December at 7:30 in the Victoria Commercial Hotel (right behind the Town Hall).

2 responses to “‘The Companion’ is rejected twice on the same day

  1. Rosie December 4, 2011 at 2:42 am

    Hey W T-G,
    I have experience of writers, both within my family and their subsequent friends. Published I mean. You sound as though you are doing ok… Two agents?? Most people are happy to receive a positive response from one in twenty. Maybe more, for the hard-core writer. I have read moments of brilliance, and I hope you achieve whatever it is that you desire in the literary world.

  2. wthirskgaskill December 4, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Thank you for those supportive comments.

    I am not disheartened. The only problem I am experiencing with this particular work is that it has to be considered for marketing purposes as science fiction. That is a niche in publishing which I do not currently have a route into. In the Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook, the vast majority of both agents and publishers say that they do not deal with science fiction.

    In the last resort, I will publish it on Smashwords, or somewhere similar. Every chapter except the very last one I have already posted on my Open University blog. I don’t know how many people read it, but at least four or five were reading it assiduously: I mean I would sometimes get emails in the evening from people saying “I am sitting here just hitting the ‘refresh’ button. Can you hurry up, please?”

Leave a Reply

