iamhyperlexic

Contemporary short fiction, poetry and more

An embarrassment of riches

Recently I received notification from the BBC that I have been given a place on the forthcoming series of ‘Brain of Britain’ on Radio 4.  It had taken me three attempts to be accepted.  I was delighted.  The recording is in Salford in November.

This afternoon, I received an email from Michael Stewart (in his capacity as editor of the ‘Grist’ anthology) to say that the launch party for the 2012 edition – my first ever fiction publication – is in Huddersfield on the same day in November as ‘Brain of Britain’.

I doubt very much that it will be possible to attend both.   If I attend the ‘Grist’ launch, as I almost certainly will, I will probably be reading an extract from my short story entitled ‘Slow Dance With A Skeleton’.

The short fiction anthology is called ‘Outside the Asylum’.

2 responses to “An embarrassment of riches

  1. Mintylearns October 25, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    Congratulations, William. That’s must be a difficult choice to make. Personally, I would go with the Grist launch party too.

  2. wthirskgaskill October 26, 2011 at 9:34 am

    There is a chance that the BBC may be able to move me to 15 December.

Leave a Reply

